Home : Archive : Another Time & Space : Doctor Who 2005 : Promotional Material

On Prime: Classic Doctor Who Facts

The first episode of Doctor Who launched on BBC Television on 23 November 1963. There have been more than 600 episodes, 150 stories and two TV movies.

Verity Lambert was just 27 when she became the first producer of Doctor Who.

William Hartnell became the first Doctor in the first episode of Doctor Who, entitled "An Unearthly Child".

There have been eight Doctors (Christopher Eccleston becomes the ninth incarnation) and more than 30 companions.

The last series of Doctor Who screened in the UK in 1989 with Sylvester McCoy in the title role.

The Paul McGann film screened in 1996.

Among the many famous actors appearing in the Doctor Who series were Lynda Bellingham, Martin Clunes, Sheila Hancock, Nicholas Parsons, Alexei Sayle, Helen Worth, Windsor Davies, Brian Blessed and John Cleese.

TARDIS stands for Time and Relative Dimension in Space.

Celebrity fans include
Jonathan Ross, Matt Lucas, David Walliams, Stephen Fry, Elizabeth Hurley, Rowan Atkinson, Richard Curtis, Dawn French, Mark Gatiss, Lenny Henry, Mike Gatting, Jennifer Saunders, John Sessions, Toyah Wilcox, Robbie Williams, David Tennant and Rob Lowe.

The Doctors

William Hartnell (1963-66)
Patrick Troughton (1966-69)
Jon Pertwee (1970-74)
Tom Baker (1974-81)
Peter Davison (1982-84)
Colin Baker (1984-86)
Sylvester McCoy (1986-89)
Paul McGann (1996)
Christopher Eccleston (2005)

Return to the Doctor Who 2005 Promotion page

Material presented here has been supplied by Prime and is shown as-is.