Doctor Who and the Pirate Planet

By David Bishop

Based on the BBC television serial by Douglas Adams

[View large]

The Doctor and Romana head for Calufrax in search of the second segment of the all-powerful Key to Time. But something blocks their attempts to materialise on the barren, ice-covered planet. When the TARDIS does materialise it is not on Calufrax but on the affluent world of Zanak, controlled by the Captain's harsh regime.

What is the secret behind Zanak's bountiful mines and its unseen leader? Who is really pulling the strings among the planet's rulers? What happened to Calufrax, and where is the second segment?

The Doctor, Romana and K9 must battle the ghost of a tyrant ruler from the past and stop Earth becoming the next victim of Zanak - the Pirate Planet!

A TSV Book
Cover artwork by Alistair Hughes
Published by the New Zealand Doctor Who Fan Club, 2006

Print editions: Doctor Who - The Pirate Planet by David Bishop (first edition) JPS Books, September 1990; Doctor Who - The Pirate Planet by David Bishop (second edition) TSV Books, January 1991; Doctor Who and the Pirate Planet by David Bishop (third edition) TSV Books, April 2001.

Original script copyright © Douglas Adams 1978
Novelisation copyright © David Bishop 2006
Doctor Who copyright © British Broadcasting Corporation 1978, 2006

This is an unofficial and unauthorised fan publication. No profits have been derived from this book. No attempt has been made to supersede the copyrights held by the BBC or any other persons or organisations. Reproduction of the text of this e-book for resale or distribution is prohibited.


1. The Pirate Captain
2. Arrival on Zanak
3. The Mentiads
4. The Omens
5. The Golden Age of Prosperity
6. The Mines of Zanak
7. The Gestalt
8. The Uprising
9. The Trophy Room
10. The Wrath of Xanxia
11. A Spanner in the Works
12. A Piece of Cake


Novelising The Pirate Planet
Author's Notes
Deleted Scenes
Covers Gallery

PDF Format (532kb)

Index Nodes: The Pirate Planet